Song Feature: Symphony X – The Turning

I’m gonna use this “Song Feature” section to talk about songs with random things I find interesting. My ReVamp post is now part 1 of this series.

Symphony X – The Turning

Lurking out of sight
Night shall fall and feed my frenzy
Beneath an eerie moon a change comes over me

Eyes glow by candlelight
a face divided in the mirror
my psyche ripped by daggers of my alchemy

Side by side with myself again
As midnight’s curse descends on trembling hands

Oh – save my soul
losing control when the bell tolls

Savage on the prowl
In the lamplight’s glow – nocturnal
my breath hangs like ghosts in the evening air

This ill effecta vile creation
of my designabomination
the madness rages on and on and on and on …

Side by side with myself again
As midnight’s curse descends on trembling hands

Oh – save my soul
losing control when the bell tolls
Oh – feed my soul
I’m in control – when the bell tolls

Oh – save my soul
losing control when the bell tolls
Oh – feed my soul
I’m in control – when the bell tolls
You’ll be forever mine

The Turning is a song about a man who, well, turns. TO THE DARK SIDE! I think The Turning is based on Jekyll and Hyde. The content is about a man turning into a monster, while “a face divided in the mirror”, “my psyche ripped by daggers of my alchemy” and “in the lamplight’s glow” point towards certain scenes in the book. “You’ll be forever mine” is Hyde’s takeover towards the end of Jekyll’s life. Admittedly, I’m not sure about the references to night time, the moon, and the bells, so maybe I’m completely wrong and it’s actually about werewolves or something?! T_T (Given Symphony X’s usual lyrics, I wouldn’t be surprised if it’s not about anything in particular and I’m being hella pretentious.)

So yeah, the lyrics reflect the turn, from the viewpoint of both the man and the evil one. I’ve highlighted the different narrators – plain text is the original man, bold text is the monster, and italics is both. In the song, I like how vocalist Russell Allen plays each role with a distinct change in style. The man sings with a clear, clean tone to emphasise his normality, while the monster sings with rough voice to show its savage nature. In the pre-chorus, “side by side with myself again …”, both the man and monster vocals sing together, signalling the imminent takeover of the monster’s personality.

The Turning is another song in which the delivery of the lyrics adds to the lyrical content. Anyway, hope you found this a little interesting!

This entry was posted in ~Song Feature~ and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments make me happy!

