Why I Do Read Manga?

I talk about Onani Master Kurosawa, but don’t go into specifics. Possible spoiler in point 1 in the first comment.

OMK

I’ve been a bit gloomy recently. It seems I’ve been suffering from PPD and EIRP. The cause of this was a certain doujinshi called Onani Master Kurosawa. I loved it, in that funny way you love things that make you feel sorrow, hatred and despair. Yet while Kurosawa never held back the suffering, it also showed hope, bravery and faith in human nature, with the themes of redemption and growing up. I really like Aku no Hana and Koe no Katachi as well, but it didn’t strike me until now that it was redemption offered to these terribly broken characters which moved me so much. I’m not really that good with discussing this kind of stuff, but Onani Master Kurosawa has made me realise how the redemption theme resonates with me, as well as being an emotionally powerful narrative, and letting me learn a bit about myself.

Why do I read manga? To find stories like this.

This entry was posted in ~Anime/Manga~ and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Why I Do Read Manga?

  1. Alex says:

    Asides:
    1) Yeah it was a bit idealised. I doubt his classmates would be so forgiving. But meh, I don’t care.
    2) Obviously I liked a lot of scenes, but two of my favourites were “let’s stretch together” and “we’re always separated by a door”.
    3) Sakura Nagashi is a beautiful and somewhat lyrically appropriate song to listen to while reading the latter part of the story.
    4) I started reading Onani Master Kurosawa: After The Juvenile. I quit when I reached “Order of the Black Knights”. That is so lame, how dare you butcher my favourite story.
    5) Also started Chikan Oto, as it was apparently like Kurosawa. It reminds me of Densha Otoko, except the main character was creepy and not very sympathetic, and it annoyed me how the woman apologised, so I dropped it after a few chapters.
    6) Maybe another reason why I’m unhappy is MY SKIP BEAT VOLUME 21 HASN’T ARRIVED AT THE LIBRARY YET >.<

  2. froggykun says:

    There were actually parts of the story I disliked and thought were terribly handled, but it always felt human and I always felt the emotions of the characters involved.

    Onani Master Kurosawa is a story with soul.

  3. Moira says:

    Whew, and here I am reading manga for yaoi (even though I don’t even read manga that much), while you are talking about redemption and emotionally powerful narratives…

    Will consider reading this nonetheless.

    • Alex says:

      Nothing wrong with some yaoi! I read lotsa stuff like Gintama for balls jokes wwwww. Just now and then I find something that connects with me.

  4. A spoiler warning for a ridiculously old manga… -_-

    • Alex says:

      What’s your problem with spoiler warnings? Can’t you just ignore them?

      Also:
      1) What does age have to do with anything?
      2) Is 2007-2009 “ridiculously old” now?
      3) Yes, it isn’t particularly spoiler-ey. Although I think my Aside #1 gives a rather large clue about the direction of the story. When I got my sister to read it though she said she would have preferred not to so…
      4) I am not an anime blog. It’s more expected on anime blogs, if you’re talking about an anime there’ll be spoilers. But they often give warnings anyway. Look, people don’t come to my blog expecting things about anime. I think it’s better to be safe than sorry. My readers can make their own decisions to read or not.

      EDIT: I changed it a bit.

  5. Fushigi Yuugi kind of depressed me, what with all the rape/attempted rape/best friendships tarnished. But it was a good story. Funny but serious. Sad but hopeful. It’s been a while since I’ve read something of similar quality.

Comments make me happy!

