Dear Yamato – Lame Limericks

Very light spoilers for Uchuu Senkan Yamato 2199.

yamato 2199

I do love the anime Yamatokodai shima mori yamato 2199
But there were some things that made me say “no!”
So I wrote these short verses
Chock-full of my curses
Praying my anger would go

ship crashingThere once was a soldier named Kodai
Who saw Gamilans up in the sky
So he stole this new plane
And got shot down in flames
Then was somehow promoted (why?)

The Yamato was obsessed with the seavlcsnap-2014-05-19-12h53m58s222
And proudly displayed this with glee
In space, why an anchor?
Designer must be a wanker
It seems pretty pointless to me

vlcsnap-2014-05-19-12h55m42s32Their speed through the cosmos was swift
When they found a DIMENSIONAL RIFT
I hate to admit
But that’s complete shit
Understandably, I was quite miffed

After zooming through space looking grandvlcsnap-2014-05-19-12h48m33s69
The Yamato decided to land
It should’ve been scrapped
But the physics was crap
So everything went just as planned

vlcsnap-2014-05-19-12h58m12s225Goer attacked on his own side
The result was his ally got fried
He hoped that no-one
Would know what he’d done
But his entire goddamn fleet saw how they died

With a Gamilan girl in their midstvlcsnap-2014-05-19-12h59m44s136
Our icy-haired pilot was pissed
They fought near a moon
Akira’s ship went kaboom
But she got off with a slap on the wrist

yamato buttsThere once was a woman called Mori
Clad in yellow as all could see
She had a nice bott
Which was in every shot
To please fanboys watching TV

If you got through my meter and rhymeokita salute
Have a medal for wasting your time
But you should watch Yamato
It’s a damn good show
And the OP is simply sublime.

This entry was posted in ~Anime/Manga~ and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dear Yamato – Lame Limericks

  1. Evil Sister says:

    I must say, I loved good old “Yamato” too
    Since it ended, I’ve found myself feeling quite blue
    Sure, I admit that your poetry’s lacking
    But you’ve sent the rest of your blogger friends packing
    Reading that post was like being in heaven
    It might as well be episode twenty-seven.

  2. John Samuel says:

    Chuckle. Very nice work.

    If you’re up for a challenge I’d like to see your rhyming responses to some of the other problems with Yamato that I picked out in my review.🙂

  3. This is just a bit of nitpicking from my anti-spoiler warning bias, but if there are very light spoilers that are unlikely to affect a person’s enjoyment of a work, it’s probably unnecessary to have a spoiler warning. It’s like putting a spoiler warning on “Allies win World War II” or “I am your father”.

    • Alex says:

      While the spoilers are very small
      Some people might not want to know at all
      So just in case
      I put a notice in the preface
      Usually I prefer warnings are supplied
      Than it’s up to me to decide.

Comments make me happy!

