FLOW – Ai Ai Ai ni Utarete Bye Bye Bye

ai ai ai flow

Tracklist:

  1. Ai Ai Ai ni Utarete Bye Bye Bye
  2. FROGS ~Keronpa Teikoku no Gyakushu~
  3. Samurymaflo 2014
  4. Ai Ai Ai ni Utarete Bye Bye Bye -TV Size-
  5. Ai Ai Ai ni Utarete Bye Bye Bye -Instrumental-

***

The A-side, Ai Ai Ai ni Utarete Bye Bye Bye is a typically good FLOW anime song. It’s a pumped-up rock track, using the band’s usual instruments plus a touch of synths. The performances from the members are solid – the guitars are played cleanly, Kohshi reaches his high notes easily, and the two vocalists harmonise well. The vocals would have to be the best part, especially Kohshi’s. Throw in one hell catchy chorus, and you’ve got a successful pop-rock number.

Three of Ai Ai Ai‘s features could be done better, but they’re all small issues. First, the snare drum sounds weird, although I’m having trouble pinning down why. I think it sounds a little dull and has a reverb effect applied, but I’m not sure. Second, in the first chorus’ “futashikana”, the “ka” is flat. Luckily, it’s short. Third, in the quiet chorus after the guitar solo, the guitar uses an echoing effect in triplet time, while the melody’s rhythm is normal. This is only for four bars, but I find it really off-putting and I don’t like how the two rhythms sit against each other.

But apart from my grumps, Ai Ai Ai is another respectable A-side from FLOW.

I’m a lot less keen on FROGS ~Keronpa Teikoku no Gyakushu~. The second track is an electro-pop song with programmed beats, bucketfuls of synths and auto-tuned vocals. I dislike the song because of these vocals. The constant filtering is excessive, and gets on my nerves. Sometimes, it sounds like the vocals are vomited out instead of sung. The frog noises are annoying, but the short growl was cool. I think it’s dangerous for FLOW to overuse vocal filtering, because a lot of their charm comes from the vocalists, and filtering cuts this out.

On the other hand, when coupled with the PV, I like the song a lot more. There’s some nice choreography, although sections of it will give you a seizure.

Samurymaflo 2014 (anyone know if I got that right?) tries out rap-rock. I don’t find it interesting – the guitar-work is repetitive, and I don’t care much for the rap. FLOW has energy in abundance though, so if you’re okay with rap then you might like it.

Ai Ai Ai ni Utarete Bye Bye Bye is an average single overall, with luckluster B-sides. If you’re in the mood for some good pop-rock though, check it out for the A-side.

***

Rating: 2.5 stars

starstarhalfstarblankstarblankstar

This entry was posted in FLOW and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FLOW – Ai Ai Ai ni Utarete Bye Bye Bye

  1. Mack says:

    I was laughing with the title the first time I saw it.
    And then I heard when he sings the title, and was funny but sounded like FLOW😛

Comments make me happy!

