T.M.Revolution | SCANDAL – Count ZERO/Runners High

Count_Zero_Runners_High_(Limited_Edition)

Tracklist:

  1. Count ZERO
  2. Runners High
  3. Count ZERO (Instrumental)
  4. Runners High (Instrumental)

***

The first track from the split single, Count ZERO, is performed by T.M.Revolution. It opens with mid-tempo strings, which got me hoping for a deviation from his usual pop/rock/dance. Well, my hopes were soon dashed, but Count ZERO is a big step up from his last two singles. The beats are fierce, the synths are heavy, and the guitars, though mixed quietly, give an extra power boost in the chorus. While the arrangement isn’t too special for T.M.R, it’s good enough, and anyway, Takanori’s vocals are what hold the song together. His relentless energy is a joy to listen to, especially the mighty extended notes, chock-full of vibrato. The only improvement I can think of is there could have been a slower, stringsy chorus (like the intro) directly after the bridge. No big deal though. On the whole, Count ZERO is a very respectable addition to T.M.Revolution’s discography.

Girl band SCANDAL performs the second track, Runners High. I’ve never been a fan of SCANDAL, and Runners High isn’t doing anything to win me over. I wouldn’t say this song is bad – the delivery is (mostly) fine, and there are some catchy lines, but it just doesn’t work with me. There are a couple of issues I have. The lead vocalist is okay, but sounds a little hoarse, and doesn’t have much power on the upper notes. Well, at least they didn’t use the high, squeaky idol-sounding girl. I also think the mixing of the guitars is too soft, which makes the track feel empty and un-rocking. However, I think these are general complaints I have against SCANDAL, so maybe if you’re already a fan you’ll be fine with Runners High. Maybe.

So all up, this single wasn’t too bad! T.M.Revolution’s offering was more to my tastes, but the SCANDAL one was decent. I would’ve preferred a double serving of T.M.R but eh, I’ll take what I can get. Solid release.

***

Rating: 3.5 stars

starstarstarhalfstarblankstar

This entry was posted in SCANDAL, T.M.Revolution and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to T.M.Revolution | SCANDAL – Count ZERO/Runners High

  1. Artemis says:

    I used to adore SCANDAL. However, all their releases since 2012 have done absolutely nothing for me.😦

  2. shinitakashi says:

    Yeah, SCANDAL seemed promising around their debut, but they’ve been mostly a miss for me ever since their first album. They have some good songs here and there, and their last album was actually a step up. But…meh. I don’t see the hype.

  3. Leap250 says:

    I guess I’m the only one that “kinda” liked Runner’s High then?😀
    Although it is in fact true that their lead vocals is still straining her voice; I’m just glad she hasn’t completely lost it.

    • Alex says:

      Heh, so it seems from the comments so far. Personally, I wouldn’t say I dislike it, more that it’s the kind of song I’d listen to a couple of times then forget about lol. Although the singer is a bit strained, she’s still on note, which is a point in her favour ^^

Comments make me happy!

