Best Of: Ballads

Sooooo… I kind of felt in a ballad-y mood and thought I’d make a post about some really good Japanese ballads. Here goes, they’re in no particular order of favouritism.

abingdon boys school:

abingdon boys school teaching materials

  • More power ballads than normal ballads, but you should not miss out on Takanori Nishikawa’s powerful vocals on Nephilim and From Dusk Till Dawn.

AKINO:

lost in time

  • Give a listen to these two: the beautiful Gekkou Symphonia with her brother AIKI and the slightly discordant synths of Suashi.

alan:

red_cliff_shin_sen

ayami:

revise the world

Ayane:

lyricallya candles

Hikaru Utada:

sakura nagashi

  • At time of writing, Sakura Nagashi from the third Evangelion movie is my favourite ballad, it’s so emotionally powerful, plus Hikaru Utada sings brilliantly.

HIMEKA:

himeka anison

  • Surely HIMEKA is one of the queens of ballads. Her voice is perfect for them. I love her cover of VOICES from her Love Anison album and Echoes from her single Where I Belong (I could only find a NicoNico short of the second one unfortunately).

Kalafina:

hikarifuru2

KOKIA:

fate

  • KOKIA seems to be one of those artists who only does ballads. I can’t say I’m her greatest fan, but I love the deep strings of Womoi.

LIV MOON:

doublemoon-tm2g

  • Our favourite symphonic metal opera singer is no slouch at ballads. Give this piano/operatic ballad a try – A Wish.

Luna Haruna:

Sora wa Takaku Kaze wa Utau

MELL:

mell_-_kill

  • MELL is mostly known for her blend of trance and rock, but she does have an excellent song in On My Own. She’s damn good live too🙂, pity she’s on hiatus.

T.M.Revolution:

UC2_Promotion

  • T.M.Revolution is a master of ballads. With his vibrato, control and feeling, he’s produced wonders like the UNDER:COVER version of THUNDERBIRD, which is one of my favourites!!! Not as good live here as in studio but… the pianist’s hair❤

Versailles:

jubilee-versailles

  • Lots of people like Love Will Be Born Again, but I prefer The Umbrella Of Glass from their album Jubilee.

Yoko Hikasa:

Utsukushiki Zankoku na Sekai

Yui Sakakibara:

phantams-big.jpg

Bleaaaaahhh that was long. Did I say I was in a ballad-y mood? That has left now actually😛.

Kidding.

Of course, I’m sure I’ve forgotten many. Maybe you can remind me of some, or introduce me to some new ones. What are your favourite ballads?

This entry was posted in ~Best Ofs~ and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Best Of: Ballads

  1. Nat says:

    A bunch of my favourite ballads are from Chihiro Onitsuka. Infection, Ii hi Tabidachi, Kaerimichi wo Nakushite, Watashi to Waltz wo, Hotaru…just to name a few. Angela Aki does some lovely piano ballads too.

    Cool entry ^_^ I haven’t heard a lot of these songs, thanks for the recommendations.

Comments make me happy!

