Linked Horizon – Jiyuu e no Shingeki



  1. Guren no Yumiya
  2. Jiyuu no Tsubasa
  3. Moshi Kono Kabe no Naka ga Ikken no Ie Datoshitara


1. Guren no Yumiya

Guren no Yumiya starts with a mighty choir arrangement, soon becoming a full-blown orchestral rock track, complete with an abundance of brass and choral chants. Then there’s an awesome transition involving organ, which makes the transition between loud and powerful in the introduction to more restrained in the verse, where I suspect Revo is under filters. With the appearance of pounding drums, and the re-introduction of brass and choir, the power shoots up, climaxing at the ever-so-familiar chorus of the Shingeki no Kyojin anime. But the action doesn’t stop there. First there is a sweet organ solo, followed by Revo against complex flute countermelodies, and then a slow yet powerful choir part. I’m loving the folk influences the second part of the twin guitar solos as well. Usually in Sound/Linked Horizon songs the narration pisses me off, but I’m actually perfectly happy with the deep German in this song. The pre-chorus and chorus return at the end for a memorable finish. I was hooked from start to finish on this song, it was very impressive and I hope will be remembered as one of the great OPs.

2. Jiyuu no Tsubasa

Obviously the crowd loved the last song, so they showed their appreciation through all that applause. Beginning with a march, the song then becomes very fast and almost symphonic/power metal like. Awesome guitar solos are accompanied by the choir in the background, and there’s another organ solo which makes me happy! I like the section directly after the organ solo, where I think Revo’s vocals sound very impressive. The quiet narration part sounds very dark, and is followed by a mournful interlude. The theme from Guren no Yumiya returns, before returning to the exciting introduction part. While for the most part the track races along, there are also some great contrasting parts where the tempo slows and an epic feel is brought out. I do have an issue with this song though – the mixing. The previous track suffered from this a little, but not to the extent that it bothered me particularly. However in this one I would have liked to hear the drums more, there were some weird volume changes and Revo was drowned out at times. These stopped me from enjoying the song fully, but it was still a great track.

3. Moshi Kono Kabe no Naka ga Ikken no Ie Datoshitara

The final track of the single begins with pulsating organ and a ticking noise reminding me of a old-fashioned movie playing. This time vocalist is female (Mami Yanagi maybe, anyone know?) and she sing calmly against the organ, trickling water and glistening chimes. I like her vocals for the most part, although her tone is a little thin and a bit on the shouting side on the high notes. Halfway through, the orchestral feel is introduced with horns pealing and the song is filled with a powerful energy. The “movie” theme returns towards the end, but just as you think the song has ended, think again! The choir and introduction from Guren no Yumiya plays, ending the song as it began. Although the song wasn’t as grand as the first two, it did have a more controlled feel and I liked that.

I am neither a fan of Sound Horizon nor Linked Horizon, so I was pleasantly surprised that this single turned out so well. There were two exciting songs and one calmer song, all of which had thematic links and probably told a story if I bothered to look at a lyrics translation. Even the narration was ok! A pity about the mixing though. But overall Revo did a great job and should be commended

Note: For full listening experience, blast this music out of your speakers and shout “Jäger!!!!” at the top of your lungs while jumping off a wall.

I will not be held responsible for death.

Rating: 9/10

This entry was posted in Linked Horizon and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Linked Horizon – Jiyuu e no Shingeki

  1. Artemis says:

    Note to self: try not to listen to Guren no Yumiya on the bus again. It’s impossible not to rock out, and all your Japanese kids will laugh at you.

  2. “…all of which had thematic links and probably told a story if I bothered to look at a lyrics translation.” Hahaha, are you lazy too? Just that line tells me you’re as lazy as I am!

    Anyway, great review. I agree that this single is awesome & epic, but more of worth a 9/10, like you put up.

    Also, you wrote so much this time! (°◇°;)

    • 123 says:

      Lol I pretty much never look at lyrics. Lazy=confirmed.
      Yeah and I did write a lot. Yuki Nagato was right, there’s defs a lot you can write about!

  3. Yuki Nagato says:

    There’s one thing that interests me; did you like Guren no Yumiya or Jiyuu no Tsubasa more? o.o

    • 123 says:

      I preferred Guren no Yumiya. There wasn’t really anything I could complain about in Guren no Yumiya, while the mixing bothered me a bit in Jiyuu no Tsubasa. Not to say that the latter is a bad song or anything though.

  4. hernc12 says:

    Does everyone know where i can download that interlude in “Jiyuu no Tsubasa” .. that sound is very calming.. :3

    • 123 says:

      I don’t really understand what you mean… if you’ve already got the song, you could use some audio manipulation software to cut out what you want.

Comments make me happy!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s